- Associated Press - Monday, June 30, 2014

RIO DE JANEIRO (AP) - World Cup organizers will take no action against Arjen Robben after he apparently acknowledged diving during the Netherlands’ 2-1 victory over Mexico in Sunday’s second-round match.

The Dutch forward is reported to have apologized for diving early in the game, but not when he won the decisive penalty in injury time. He said that was a “definite foul.”

Robben made his comments about diving on Dutch television, but the Dutch football association issued a statement saying his comments were misunderstood.

FIFA spokeswoman Delia Fischer says the disciplinary committee only “will look into serious infringements.” She said a yellow card would not be issued retroactively against Robben.

She says: “We ask the players to play in the spirit of fair play. It’s up to the referees to manage a match.”

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide