- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 4, 2014

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - The Salt Lake County Council has approved restrictions on fireworks in unincorporated areas of the county.

The Tuesday vote to restrict fireworks was the first time the council did so under a new law passed.

Earlier this year, legislators passed and Gov. Gary Herbert signed legislation that allows counties to restrict fireworks, smoking and fires within their boundaries. Before, only cities could pass such restrictions.

The restrictions will bar fireworks most days except the weeks of July 4 and Pioneer Day on July 24 and on New Year’s Eve and Chinese New Year’s Eve.

The Unified Fire Authority has posted a map online of the unincorporated townships where fireworks will be restricted.

Violations would be a misdemeanor offense.




Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide