- Associated Press - Thursday, June 5, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Five more Arkansas properties have been added to the National Register of Historic Places.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program announced the new additions Wednesday. The newly listed properties include the Morrilton Colored School, which served black students in Conway County from the 1930s until 1965; the V.C. Kays House on the Arkansas State University campus in Jonesboro; and the Northern Ohio School in Parkin in Cross County.

The register also added the Hankins Store in Oil Trough and the Mary H. Matthews Lustron House in Little Rock.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide