- Associated Press - Monday, June 9, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - A total of $250,000 has been awarded to 21 Arkansas counties to pay for security upgrades at courthouses.

The grants were awarded by the Arkansas Supreme Court’s Office of Security and Emergency. The money will go toward various upgrades, including security cameras, metal detectors, bulletproof glass, bulletproof vests, stun guns and alarm systems.

Izard County received $14,930 for a walk-through metal detector, six handheld metal detectors and two closed-circuit television cameras. County Judge David Sherrell tells the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (https://bit.ly/SH68xD ) that the upgrades will mean a better peace of mind for his deputies and the general public.

Other grants recipients are: Benton, Boone, Bradley, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Grant, Independence, Jefferson, Marion, Mississippi, Monroe, Newton, Phillips, Poinsett, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Van Buren and White counties.


Information from: Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, https://www.arkansasonline.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide