- Associated Press - Monday, March 31, 2014

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - The South Dakota Historical Society says three people and two organizations will be honored for their efforts in preserving the state’s history.

The groups and individuals will be presented with the Governor’s Awards for History on Saturday in Pierre.

The award recipients are Barbara Johnson of Aberdeen, Steve Olson of Watertown, Harl Dalstrom of Omaha, Neb., The Outdoor Campus of Sioux Falls and the Whitewood Public Library in Whitewood.

Johnson researches and promotes stained glass throughout South Dakota, while Olson is a history teacher at Watertown Middle School.

Dalstrom is a professor emeritus of history at the University of Nebraska-Omaha. He has written about the life and career of Albert M. Jackley, who devoted much of his adult life to the eradication rattlesnakes in the state.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide