- Associated Press - Friday, May 9, 2014

ZURICH (AP) - FIFA says England, France, New Zealand, South Africa and South Korea are interested in hosting 2019 Women’s World Cup.

The five candidates must submit formal bids by Oct. 31, and FIFA says its executive committee is scheduled to pick the host next March.

The winner should also host the Under-20 Women’s World Cup the previous year.

FIFA says India and Japan are competing to host the Club World Cup in 2015 and ‘16. Brazil, Japan and the United Arab Emirates have expressed interest in hosting the event in 2017 and ‘18.

FIFA’s board will pick those hosts at a Sept. 25-26 meeting in Zurich.

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, Finland, Northern Ireland and Sweden want to host the Under-17 Women’s World Cup in 2018.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide