- Associated Press - Saturday, November 1, 2014

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - South Dakota has unveiled three more bronze statues of its former governors.

KCCR-AM reports that former Governors George S. Mickelson, Peter Norbeck and Robert S. Vessey are the newest additions to the state’s Trail of Governors series. The sculptures were unveiled Saturday in the Capitol rotunda.

The unveiling is part of the day-long celebration of South Dakota’s 125th anniversary of statehood.

The newest additions mean Pierre now has statues of nine former Governors.

The statues are scheduled to be placed in their permanent positions around the city when the ceremony concludes.

Each statue in the series costs $68,000. Trail of Governors Foundation Board President Rick Jensen says most, if not all, of the funding for the next three has already been raised.


Information from: KCCR-AM, https://www.todayskccr.com/

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide