- Associated Press - Saturday, November 1, 2014

ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) - New York state is imposing tougher penalties on motorists who use hand-held mobile phones while driving.

Beginning Saturday, young and new drivers caught texting or using a cell phone without a hands-free device face a 120-day license suspension. A second offense will lead to a year-long suspension.

More experienced motorists with also face steeper fines for repeat offenses. Currently, drivers found to be using a hand-held phone twice within an 18-month period are fined $200. As of Saturday, the penalty will increase to $250.

The $50 fine for a first offense will remain unchanged.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo says driving habits develop early and the tougher penalties will remind younger drivers that texting while driving is unsafe and unacceptable.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide