- Associated Press - Wednesday, November 12, 2014

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Five Oklahoma schools have been honored by the U.S. Department of Education as National Blue Ribbon Schools.

Education Secretary Arne Duncan recognized the schools at a ceremony Tuesday in Washington. The program honors schools for overall academic excellence or progress made in closing achievements gaps.

The Oklahoma schools receiving the honor are: Adair High School, Bethany High School, Edmond Doyle Elementary School in McAlester, Reydon Elementary School and Southeast Elementary School in Tulsa. They’re among 340 schools nationwide receiving the honor this year.

The principal at one of those schools - Edmond Doyle’s Kathy Hunt - was also recognized for her work. Hunt was one of eight principals nationwide to receive the Terrel H. Bell Award, which honors leaders for their work in guiding schools, often under challenging circumstances.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide