By Associated Press - Friday, November 14, 2014

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. (AP) - Five screenwriters new to Hollywood have already earned the film academy’s stamp of approval.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presented its annual Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting Thursday at its Beverly Hills, California, headquarters. The winning screenplays were chosen from more than 7,500 submissions.

Winners receive $35,000 and guidance from academy members as they complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year.

The films “Erin Brockovich,” ”Finding Forrester” and “Transformers: Age of Extinction” were written by past Nicholl fellows.

Academy members such as actress Eva Marie Saint and “Selma” director Ava DuVernay presented this year’s awards. Select scenes from the winning screenplays were also read live by actors, including Ansel Elgort from “The Fault in Our Stars.”



Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide