- Associated Press - Wednesday, November 5, 2014

All Times EST




Site: Avondale, Arizona.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 1:30-3 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 2, 6:30-8 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Fox Sports 2, 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m., 2:30-3:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 3:15 p.m. (ESPN, 2-6:30 p.m.).

Track: Phoenix International Raceway (oval, 1.0 miles).

Race distance: 312 miles, 312 laps.

Last year: Kevin Harvick won the race for the second straight year for the last of his four 2013 victories.

Last week: Jimmie Johnson won the Texas fall race for the third year in a row, winning a two-lap overtime sprint after Jeff Gordon spun following contact with Brad Keselowski. Gordon confronted Keselowski, triggering a melee on pit road.

Fast facts: The race ends the third three-race Chase round. The championship field will be cut from eight to four for the finale at Homestead. The title will be decided by finishing order among the final four at Homestead. If a Chase driver wins the Phoenix race, he will advance along with the top three in the standings. If a non-Chase driver wins, all four spots will be determined by points. Joey Logano and Denny Hamlin top the standings, two points ahead of Ryan Newman. Gordon (12 points back) is fourth, followed by Matt Kenseth (-13), Carl Edwards (-13), Keselowski (-17) and Harvick (-18). Harvick won the March race at the track for his record fifth Phoenix victory.

Next race: Ford EcoBoost 400, Nov. 16, Homestead-Miami Speedway, Homestead, Florida.

Online: https://www.nascar.com



DAV 200

Site: Avondale, Arizona.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, noon-1:30 a.m., 3-4:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 2, 12:30-2 p.m.), race, 4:15 p.m. (ESPN, 3:30-6:30 p.m.).

Track: Phoenix International Raceway (oval, 1.0 miles).

Race distance: 200 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Kyle Busch raced to the last of his 12 2013 series victories.

Last week: Busch won at Texas for his seventh victory of the year and record-extending 70th career win.

Fast facts: Chase Elliott leads the standings, 48 points ahead of JR Motorsports teammate Regan Smith with two races left. … Team Penske’s No. 22 Ford tops the owners’ standings, 26 points ahead of Joe Gibbs Racing’s No. 54 Toyota. Brad Keselowski is driving the No. 22. Busch is in the No. 54. He won the March race at the track. … Erik Jones, the Truck winner at the track last year at a then-record 17 years, 4 months, is driving Gibbs’ No. 20 Toyota. Jones has two Truck victories this season for Kyle Busch Motorsports.

Next race: Ford EcoBoost 300, Nov. 15, Homestead-Miami Speedway, Homestead, Florida.

Online: https://www.nascar.com




Site: Avondale, Arizona.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 4:30-6 p.m.), race, 8:48 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 8-11 p.m.).

Track: Phoenix International Raceway (oval, 1.0 miles).

Race distance: 150 miles, 150 laps.

Last year: Erik Jones became the series’ youngest winner at 17 years, 4 months. Cole Custer broke the record in September at New Hampshire, winning at 16 years, 7 months, 28 days.

Last week: Kyle Busch won at Texas for his seventh victory in nine series starts this year. He has 42 victories in 124 career series starts.

Fast facts: Jones is making his 12th start of the season in Kyle Busch Motorsports’ No. 51 Toyota that he shares with Busch. The No. 51 truck tops the owners’ standings, 12 points ahead of ThorSport’s No. 88 Toyota driven by series leader Matt Crafton. KBM has won 12 of the first 20 races. Jones has two wins for the team, and Darrell Wallace Jr. three. … Defending series champion Crafton has a 23-point lead over Ryan Blaney.

Next race: Ford EcoBoost 200, Nov. 14, Homestead-Miami Speedway, Homestead, Florida.

Online: https://www.nascar.com




Site: Sao Paulo.

Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Network, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 12:30-2 p.m.); Sunday, race, 11 a.m. (CNBC, 10:30 a.m.-1 p.m.; NBC Sports Network, 4-6:30 p.m.).

Track: Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace (road course, 2.677 miles).

Race distance: 190.08 miles, 71 laps.

Last year: Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel won the season-ending race to tie Michael Schumacher’s season victory record with 13 and Alberto Ascari’s mark for consecutive wins of nine.

Last week: Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton won the U.S. Grand Prix for his fifth straight victory and 10th of the year. Teammate Nico Rosberg was second.

Fast facts: Hamilton has a 24-point lead over Rosberg with two races left. Rosberg has four victories this year. … Vettel is winless this season, his last at Red Bull.

Next race: Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Nov. 23, Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Online: https://www.formula1.com



Next event: Auto Club NHRA Finals, Nov. 13-16, Auto Club Raceway at Pomona, Pomona, California.

Last week: Erica Enders-Stevens won in Las Vegas to reclaim the Pro Stock points lead with one event remaining. Enders-Stevens has five victories this year. Del Worsham topped the Funny Car field, Spencer Massey won in Top Fuel, and Andrew Hines in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Online: https://www.nhra.com



WORLD OF OUTLAWS: World of Outlaws World Finals, Thursday-Saturday, The Dirt Track at Charlotte, Concord, North Carolina. Online: https://www.worldofoutlaws.com

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car: Budweiser Oval Nationals, Thursday-Saturday, Perris Auto Speedway, Perris, California. Online: https://www.usacracing.com

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide