- Associated Press - Thursday, November 6, 2014

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - The Kentucky Department of Education is receiving $8.1 million through a five-year federal grant to help teachers, schools and communities recognize and respond to mental health problems in young people.

The department says the program will be first piloted in three school districts: Jefferson County, Fayette County and Pulaski County public schools.

Grants were also awarded to the Jefferson County, Fayette County, Corbin Independent, Covington Independent and Henderson County school districts and the Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Educational Services.

The state Education Department says the program will focus on two elements. The first will provide local communities with increased access to school- and community-based mental health services. The second will involve training school personnel, first responders and others to recognize mental health needs of young people.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide