- Associated Press - Thursday, November 6, 2014

LAS VEGAS (AP) - Nevada state Sen. Michael Roberson is trading his title of minority leader for majority leader after winning another term in the now-Republican controlled Senate.

His assistant leader will be Reno Sen. Ben Kieckhefer (KEEK’-eff-er), while Gardnerville Sen. James Settlemeyer and Las Vegas Sen. Scott Hammond will serve as co-whips. Boulder City Sen. Joe Hardy was chosen for the role of Senate President Pro Tempore.

The Senate Republican Caucus also announced leadership of 10 legislative committees.

Newly elected Sen. Becky Harris was named chair of the education committee and vice chair of the judiciary committee, while Sen. Patricia Farley will be chair of the Committee on Legislative Operations and Elections and vice chair of the commerce, labor and energy committee.

Republicans account for 11 of the 21 Senate seats.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide