- Associated Press - Sunday, November 9, 2014

JUNEAU, Alaska (AP) - Republican Rep. Mike Chenault of Nikiski will serve a record fourth term as speaker of the Alaska House.

The GOP-led caucus announced its new leaders last week, following Tuesday’s elections. Anchorage Rep. Charisse Millett will be the new majority leader and Anchorage Rep. Craig Johnson will remain chair of the House Rules committee.

Reps. Mark Neuman of Big Lake and Steve Thompson of Fairbanks will co-chair the House Finance Committee. Those posts opened up with the retirement of Rep. Alan Austerman of Kodiak and a move by Chugiak Rep. Bill Stoltze to the Senate.

Separately, Democratic Rep. Chris Tuck of Anchorage was picked to stay on as minority leader.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide