- Associated Press - Wednesday, October 1, 2014

HONOLULU (AP) - U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan is recognizing three Hawaii schools for academic excellence or for making progress in closing achievement gaps among students.

Haleiwa Elementary, Red Hill Elementary in Honolulu and Ernest Bowen deSilva in Hilo are Hawaii’s National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2014.

The U.S. Education Department will honor the 287 public and 50 private schools given the distinction nationwide at a ceremony next month in Washington, D.C.

Duncan says the schools fulfill the promise of an American education that all students can succeed no matter where they’re from.

The state Department of Education says E.B. deSilva becomes the first neighbor island school to be named a Blue Ribbon School since Holualoa Elementary in Kona in 2008.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide