- Associated Press - Wednesday, October 1, 2014

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - In a story Sept. 30 about Indiana’s National Blue Ribbon Schools, The Associated Press erroneously reported the number of schools that received the U.S. Department of Education designation. Nine Indiana schools, not eight, received it this year.

A corrected version of the story is below:

9 National Blue Ribbon Schools in Indiana

Education Secretary Duncan recognizes 9 National Blue Ribbon Schools in Indiana

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - Education Secretary Arne Duncan has recognized nine schools across Indiana as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2014 for their overall academic excellence or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

The schools recognized Tuesday are Fort Wayne’s Cedarville Elementary School, Portland’s East Elementary School, Munster’s Hammond Elementary School, Hamilton Southeastern Junior High School in Fishers, Jackson Township Elementary School in Brazil, Merle Sidener Gifted Academy in Indianapolis, Evansville’s Signature School, Sprunica Elementary School in Nineveh and St. Patrick School in Chesterton.

The Education Department will honor 287 public and 50 private schools at a recognition ceremony Nov. 10-11 in Washington, D.C. In its 32-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed the award on nearly 7,900 schools.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide