- Associated Press - Wednesday, October 1, 2014

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP) - The National Civil Rights Museum says baseball great Frank Robinson, journalist Charlayne Hunter-Gault and educator Robert Moses are winners of this year’s Freedom Awards.

The Memphis-based museum hands out Freedom Awards to people who make contributions in civil and human rights, education, the arts, sports and community service.

Robinson is the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award. Robinson was Major League Baseball’s first full-time African-American manager and remains the only player to win most valuable player awards in the American League and the National League.

Hunter-Gault will receive the International Freedom Award. She worked for The New York Times, NPR, PBS and CNN.

Moses is the winner of the National Freedom Award. In the 1960s, Moses traveled to counties in Mississippi to educate and register voters.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide