- Associated Press - Wednesday, October 1, 2014

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) - A ban on daytime outdoor burning in West Virginia is in effect for the next three months.

The state’s fall forest fire season began Wednesday and will run through Dec. 31. Outdoor burning is prohibited between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. during the fire season.

State law limits outdoor burning to leaves, brush yard clippings and other vegetative materials.

Commercial and public utility burning is allowed in the daytime. A $125 permit from the Division of Forestry is required for each site.

Allowing a fire to escape and cause a forest fire or wildfire carries fines ranging from $100 to $1,000. An additional $200 civil penalty also will be assessed.

It’s also illegal to leave a fire unattended.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide