- Associated Press - Wednesday, October 15, 2014

BERLIN (AP) - The European Space Agency has confirmed the time and place it will attempt to land the first spacecraft on a comet.

The agency said Wednesday its unmanned probe Rosetta will release the 100-kilogram (220-pound) lander at 0835 GMT (3:35 EST) on Nov. 12.

The aim is to drop its lander Philae at a location dubbed ‘Site J’ on the 4-kilometer (2.5-mile) wide comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko.

The maneuver will take about seven hours. Because radio signals have to travel more than 400 million kilometers (250 million miles) back to Earth, confirmation of a successful landing won’t arrive until about 1600 GMT (11:00 a.m. EST).

Scientists hope the mission will help them learn more about the origins and evolution of objects in the universe.

___

Online:

https://www.esa.int/rosetta


Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide