- Associated Press - Thursday, October 2, 2014

NEW ORLEANS (AP) - Four Louisiana schools have been recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools based on their overall academic excellence or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan says the schools are Joseph J. Davies Elementary in Meraux; Parkview Elementary in Baton Rouge; Rosepine High School in Rosepine and Tchefuncte Middle School in Mandeville.

The Louisiana schools and others will be formally recognized at a ceremony Nov. 10-11 in Washington, D.C.

Duncan says the National Blue Ribbon Schools are “models of consistent excellence and a resource for other schools and districts.”

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide