- Associated Press - Thursday, October 2, 2014

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) - Lakeville artist Stephen Hamrick has won the 2015 Minnesota pheasant stamp contest.

The state Department of Natural Resources says Hamrick’s painting was chosen as the winning design from among 16 entries.

Nicholas Markell of Hugo took second place while Dean Kegler of Duluth placed third.

Hamrick is a multiple winner of Minnesota stamp contests. He also won the pheasant stamp contest in 2003 as well as the 2014 turkey stamp contest and the 2012 duck stamp contest. Hamrick also is a four-time winner of the trout and salmon stamp contest.

The pheasant stamp costs $7.50 and is required for all Minnesota pheasant hunters age 18 through 64. The DNR offers no prizes for the stamp contest winner, but the winning artist retains the right to reproduce the work.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide