- Associated Press - Friday, October 24, 2014

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) - University of Arkansas Chancellor G. David Gearhart has been named chairman of a committee that will search for the next Southeastern Conference commissioner.

Gearhart joins four other leaders from SEC schools who will search for a commissioner to replace Mike Slive, who is retiring next year after 13 years in the position.

Other members of the committee include Alabama President Judith Bonner, Kentucky President Eli Capilouto, Mississippi State President Mark Keenum and Missouri Chancellor R. Bowen Loftin.

The committee will work with athletic directors, faculty members, administrators and athletes in the search. The group is expected to pick a new commissioner before Slive’s retirement on July 31, 2015.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide