- Associated Press - Monday, October 27, 2014

MURRAY, Ky. (AP) - Murray State University in Kentucky is deferring applications from students in West African countries affected by Ebola until the fall of 2015.

Provost and Vice President Jay Morgan says the school is still accepting applications from Guinea, Sierra Leone and Liberia, but students will not be admitted in January.

Morgan told The Murray Ledger & Times (https://bit.ly/1wBQbJi ) the university has made sure not to plan any study abroad programs for the next six months to a year in any of the three countries.

The university has not traditionally received many applications from the three countries. Morgan says the university is trying to approach international student applications with simple precautions.

Morgan says because Nigeria was recently declared Ebola-free, Nigerian students will be allowed to register for spring classes.


Information from: Murray Ledger & Times, https://www.murrayledger.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide