- Associated Press - Friday, October 3, 2014

JUNEAU, Alaska (AP) - The U.S. Department of Education has recognized three Alaska schools for their academic excellence.

Haines Elementary School, Crawford Elementary on Eielson Air Force Base and Peterson Elementary in Kodiak were named National Blue Ribbon Schools.

Sen. Lisa Murkowski’s office says the schools were recognized as “exemplary high performing schools.”

Murkowski serves on the Senate committee overseeing education and her office says her goal is to visit every Alaska school.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide