- Associated Press - Friday, October 31, 2014

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) - A federal disaster declaration has been issued for 20 northern Missouri counties raked by violent weather in early September.

Gov. Jay Nixon’s office requested the declaration last week and says President Barack Obama issued it Friday.

The declaration allows federal reimbursements for the counties’ costs of responding to and repairing public infrastructure and buildings damaged by high winds and extensive flooding.

Some areas received more than 9 inches of rain in the storm that struck Sept. 9-10. Schools and other public buildings were damaged, and dozens of roads were closed.

The declaration covers the counties of Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Daviess, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Mercer, Nodaway, Putnam, Ralls, Shelby, Sullivan and Worth.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide