- Associated Press - Thursday, October 9, 2014

Seventeen members of the media gathered at a Texas hotel to complete a mock College Football Playoff selection, using regular-season results from 2008, on Thursday.

The 17 people represented the 13 members of the real committee, so the recusal policies would come into play.

Below are the media committee members and who they represented from the actual panel, along with the final top 25 and bowl pairings.


Andy Staples, Sports Illustrated - Arkansas athletic director and committee chairman Jeff Long

Stewart Mandel, Fox - Former Nebraska coach Tom Osborne.

Matt Hayes, The Sporting News - Former Big East Commissioner Mike Tranghese.

Chuck Carlton, Dallas Morning News - Former Air Force Superintendent and retired Lieutenant General Mike Gould.

Holly Rowe and Rod Gilmore, ESPN - Former NCAA Executive Vice President Tom Jernstedt.

Chris Dufresne, The Los Angeles Times, and Kirk Bohls, The Austin American-Statesman - USC athletic director Pat Haden.

Stephen Hawkins and Ralph D. Russo, The Associated Press - Clemson athletic director Dan Radakovich.

Pete Fiutak, Campus Insiders.com, and Tony Barnhart, SEC Network - Former Mississippi quarterback Archie Manning.

Pat Forde, Yahoo Sports! - Former Stanford and Notre Dame coach Tyrone Willingham.

Heather Dinich, ESPN.com - Former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice.

Jerry Palm, CBS.com - Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez.

George Schroeder, USA Today - West Virginia athletic director Oliver Luck.

Jimmy Burch, Fort Worth Star-Telegram - Former USA Today sports writer Steve Wieberg.


The final top 25

1. Florida

2. Oklahoma

3. Texas

4. Southern California

5. Penn State

6. Alabama

7. Utah

8. Texas Tech

9. Ohio State

10. TCU

11. Boise State

12. Cincinnati

13. Virginia Tech

14. Oklahoma State

15. Georgia Tech

16. Georgia

17. Oregon

18. Oregon State

19. Missouri

20. California

21. Michigan State

22. Mississippi

23. Boston College

24. North Carolina

25. Pittsburgh


The bowl pairings, using this season’s semifinal sites.

Sugar Bowl (semifinal) - No. 1 Florida vs. No. 4 Southern California.

Rose Bowl (semifinal) - No. 2 Oklahoma vs. No. 3 Texas.

Peach Bowl - No. 5 Penn State vs. No. 7 Utah.

Orange Bowl - No. 13. Virginia Tech vs. No. 6 Alabama.

Fiesta Bowl - No. 9 Ohio State vs. No. 11 Boise State.

Cotton Bowl - No. 8 Texas Tech vs. No. 10 TCU.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide