- Associated Press - Thursday, September 11, 2014

NEW YORK (AP) - Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore was the unanimous choice for the All-WNBA first team.

The league announced Thursday she was joined on the team by Phoenix’s Diana Taurasi and Brittney Griner, Los Angeles’ Candace Parker and Tulsa’s Skylar Diggins.

Moore, the league’s leading scorer at 23.9 points per game, set a WNBA record with 12 games of 30-plus points. Taurasi earned her record ninth first-team selection, surpassing Lisa Leslie.

Taurasi averaged 16.2 points and 5.6 assists, leading the Mercury to a league-best 29-5 record and a spot in the WNBA Finals. Parker led the Sparks with 19.4 points, second-best in her career.

The WNBA second team consists of Minnesota’s Seimone Augustus and Lindsay Whalen, Atlanta’s Angel McCoughtry, LA’s Nneka Ogwumike, New York’s Tina Charles and San Antonio’s Danielle Robinson.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide