- Associated Press - Friday, September 12, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Department of Education has announced the 15 regional finalists for the 2015 Arkansas Teacher of the Year award.

Gov. Mike Beebe will honor the finalists Sept. 16 at a ceremony, where the top four finalists will be announced.

The finalists and their school districts are: Amy Becker, Hamburg; Jason Bridges, Greenwood; Donna C. Dillahunty, Marion; Larry Cornelius Dunn, Magnolia; Kathy Glewen, Searcy; Lindsay S. Griffin, Greenbrier; Steven Helmick, Little Rock; Tifanie King, West Memphis; Jayna Moffit, Bentonville; William K. Morelan, Jasper; Ouida R. Newton, Poyen; Cheryl L. Smith, Stuttgart; Mary Smith, Lawrence County; Betty Thornton, Calico Rock; and Denise Ward, Texarkana.

Each finalist will receive a $1,000 award, while the 2015 Arkansas Teacher of the Year while receive an additional $14,000.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide