- Associated Press - Wednesday, September 17, 2014

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Gov. Terry Branstad on Wednesday issued a disaster emergency proclamation for four Iowa counties in response to recent severe weather.

The proclamation covers Adair, Guthrie, Ringgold, and Warren counties following severe weather and heavy rains on Sept. 9. State resources can now be used to help affected communities in those counties.

The proclamation also activates an individual assistance program that grants up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level. The money can be used for temporary housing, home and car repairs and other items.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide