- Associated Press - Monday, September 22, 2014

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) - North Dakota’s 2015 Teacher of the Year is a vocal and classroom music teacher with Wahpeton Public Schools.

Dean Aamodt received the honor Monday during a ceremony attended by Gov. Jack Dalrymple and state Superintendent of Public Instruction Kirsten Baesler.

Aamodt was selected from a pool of four finalists that included Chris Harvey, an instrumental music teacher with Hazen Public School; Dawn Adair Johnson, a reading coach at Prairie View Elementary School in Devils Lake; and Melissa Stanley, an elementary teacher at Edison Elementary School in Minot.

Aamodt has more than 35 years of experience as a teacher. He’s been with the district in Wahpeton for the past five years. He teaches women’s ensemble, concert choir, show choir and other classes.

The Department of Public Instruction administers the award program.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide