- Associated Press - Tuesday, September 23, 2014

LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Gov. Rick Snyder has signed a law allowing drivers who owe extra “responsibility” fees for certain offenses to do 10 hours of community service instead.

The option would apply for drivers assessed $400 in fines over two years for not having mandatory auto insurance. Drivers fined $300 over two years for operating without a valid license also could do community service.

Extra fines for the offenses went away in 2012, but some motorists still owe them for old offenses.

Snyder signed the legislation Tuesday. It’s sponsored by Republican Sen. Bruce Caswell of Hillsdale and supported by Secretary of State Ruth Johnson.

Also Tuesday, Snyder signed bills easing county treasurers’ ability to collect delinquent hotel taxes, creating standardized licensing requirements for pharmacy technicians and continuing fees paid by hazardous waste generators.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide