- Associated Press - Tuesday, September 30, 2014

ISTANBUL (AP) - The United States, Australia, Spain and Turkey all have won their groups at the women’s world championship and earned byes to the quarterfinals, which begin Friday.

The four teams all went unbeaten in pool play and await the winners of the qualifying round games that take place on Wednesday. Belarus plays China with Spain getting the winner; Serbia faces Cuba with the host nation waiting in the next round.

France will play Brazil with the victor playing the U.S.; Canada will meet the Czech Republic with Australia waiting in the quarters.

Japan, Angola, Mozambique and Korea were all eliminated after going winless in pool play.

No African nation has ever won a preliminary round game.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide