- Associated Press - Tuesday, September 30, 2014

WEST POINT, N.Y. (AP) - Former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice will receive the U.S. Military Academy’s annual Thayer Award.

The award to be given Monday at the historic academy is named for a former West Point superintendent and is given to citizens who serve the national interest.

Rice is a professor at Stanford University. She was President George W. Bush’s secretary of state from 2005 to 2009.

She will receive the award during a ceremony hosted by the academy’s Association of Graduates after cadets conduct a review in her honor.

Past recipients of the Thayer Award include Dwight Eisenhower, Douglas MacArthur, Bob Hope, Neil Armstrong, Tom Brokaw and Colin Powell.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide