- Associated Press - Thursday, April 9, 2015

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - Salt Lake County health officials says most tanning bed facilities are following state laws requiring minors to have a parent with them each time they tan.

Salt Lake County Health Department said Wednesday that a recent undercover check of county facilities found 83 percent turned away unaccompanied young people who tried to tan.

The department says a 2011 University of Utah study found only 27 percent of Utah tanning salons were following the law.

The county says it’s been reminding facilities about the law for the past few years.

Terri Sory, a county disease prevention manager, says the law exists so parents know that their children are tanning and that by doing so, they could face health risks such as an increased risk of skin cancer.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide