- Associated Press - Monday, August 10, 2015

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (AP) - Jefferson County Public Schools is set to open its first two Schools of Innovation.

The Courier-Journal reports (https://cjky.it/1TkcgEv ) classes at the Catalpa School at Maupin Elementary and the Reach Academy at Atkinson Elementary begin Wednesday.

The plan at Atkinson’s Reach Academy was to create wraparound services for students and their families, such as opening a health clinic and implementing an adult education component. Other initiatives include extending the school day and having smaller class sizes.

Maupin’s Catalpa School plan is to implement a Waldorf-inspired arts curriculum in which academics will be interwoven with music, painting, dance and storytelling.

The Schools of Innovation idea came after the state chose Jefferson County Public Schools as one of four Districts of Innovation, waiving it from state education rules to allow it to experiment.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide