By Associated Press - Wednesday, August 12, 2015

DETROIT (AP) - The Detroit Symphony Orchestra is launching an online, on-demand archive of its webcast performances.

The orchestra announced Wednesday the archive, called Replay, is composed of about 100 works originally performed on the “Live from Orchestra Hall” series.

The ensemble says it’s the first U.S. orchestra to offer such an archive. About 5,000 annual fund supporters now are eligible to use the new service, and those who join the fund with a gift of at least $50 will get access.

Available pieces span the classical music genre and include those by Beethoven, Mozart, Ravel, Tchaikovsky, Gershwin and Rimsky-Korsakov.

Orchestra spokeswoman Gabrielle Poshadlo says the archive’s content will be refreshed. She adds that officials have reached an agreement with orchestra musicians to keep the works available for three years.



Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide