By Associated Press - Wednesday, August 12, 2015

CHICAGO (AP) - The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 87 Illinois counties as primary natural disaster areas, making their farmers eligible for low-interest emergency loans because of heavy rains and flooding that have occurred since June 1.

The USDA said Wednesday that farmers in those counties and 14 other contiguous counties are eligible for low-interest Farm Service Agency loans to cover part of the damages and losses that they have incurred. Farmers in counties in Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky and Missouri that are contiguous to the disaster areas also are eligible for loans and other disaster aid.

The USDA says farmers in the eligible counties have eight months to apply for loans.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide