- Associated Press - Friday, August 14, 2015

LINCOLN, Neb. (AP) - Sixteen Nebraska counties have been added to the federal disaster declaration issued by President Barack Obama in June.

The Nebraska Emergency Management Agency says state officials were notified Friday. The declaration came in response to severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding that hit the state between May 6 and June 17.

The counties added to the declaration are Adams, Arthur, Box Butte, Clay, Dawes, Fillmore, Hamilton, Hayes, Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee, Richardson, Seward, Sioux, Wayne and York.

The declaration allows federal emergency money to be used in assisting state and local government agencies and some nonprofits. The president’s initial declaration only named 12 counties.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide