- Associated Press - Monday, August 17, 2015

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - People affected by recent severe storms in Kentucky may be eligible for federal assistance to help recover from the disaster declared recently by President Barack Obama.

The disaster declaration makes assistance available to eligible individuals and business owners in Carter, Johnson, Rowan and Trimble counties.

Heavy rains in mid-July caused flash flooding in eastern Kentucky and other parts of the state that damaged property and killed four people, including a 34-year-old man who was trying to rescue his grandmother.

Registration is available online at https://www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling (800) 621-3362 or (800) 462-7585 for the speech- and hearing-impaired.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs and for other serious disaster-related needs, such as health care and funeral expenses. U.S. Small Business Administration loans may also be available.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide