- Associated Press - Tuesday, August 18, 2015

SYDNEY (AP) - Australia coach Ange Postecoglou has boosted his attacking strength with the recall of Celtic midfielder Tom Rogic, Bayer Leverkusen forward Robbie Kruse and Queens Park Rangers’ Massimo Luongo for next month’s World Cup qualifiers against Bangladesh and Tajikistan.

Rogic is recalled to the 23-man Australia squad named Wednesday after an absence of 15 months, while Asian Cup stars Luongo and Kruse rejoin the side after missing May’s qualifier against Kyrgyzstan with injuries.

Leyton Orient goalkeeper Alex Cisak earns his first call up to the side, captained by Tim Cahill, while forward Tommy Oar retains his spot despite being without a club since leaving FC Utrecht.

Australia hosts Bangladesh in Perth on Sep. 3 before traveling to Dushanbe, Tajikistan on Sep. 8. Australia has never played Bangladesh or Tajikistan at full international level.

“It’s a positive that we’ve been able to recall Massimo, Robbie and Tom Rogic after they missed recent matches, and they add attacking options to the squad,” Postecoglou said.

“We started the World Cup qualification process with a win against Kyrgyzstan in tough conditions and now we have to continue that in front of our own fans in Perth and then on another tricky away trip to Dushanbe,” he added.



Goalkeepers: Alex Cisak (Leyton Orient), Adam Federici (Bournemouth), Mat Ryan (Valencia).

Defenders: Aziz Behich (Bursaspor), Jason Davidson (Huddersfield Town), Tarek Elrich (Adelaide United), Ryan McGowan (Dundee United), Matthew Spiranovic (Hangzhou Greentown), Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Hyundai), Bailey Wright (Preston North End).

Midfield: Jackson Irvine (Ross County), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace), Massimo Luongo (Queens Park Rangers), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), Mark Milligan (Baniyas), Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City), Tom Rogic (Celtic).

Forwards: Nathan Burns (Tokyo), Tim Cahill (Shanghai Shenhua), Tomi Juric (Roda JC Kerkrade), Robbie Kruse (Bayer Leverkusen), Mathew Leckie (Ingolstadt), Tommy Oar (unattached).

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide