- Associated Press - Tuesday, August 25, 2015

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Seven federal disaster recovery centers in five Texas counties will close this week after providing assistance since deadly May storms.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says the sites will operate through Thursday. That’s also the last day for survivors of the May 4 to June 22 storms and flooding to register for FEMA assistance or Small Business Administration loans.

The FEMA locations are in Caldwell, Harris, Hays, Jim Wells and Nueces (nyoo-AY’-sis) counties.

FEMA so far has approved nearly $50 million in assistance for individuals statewide, mainly for housing needs. Officials say nearly 34,000 Texas households registered for help.

Memorial Day weekend flooding in parts of Texas claimed more than two dozen lives. The bodies of two children, swept away by floodwaters in Wimberley, have yet to be recovered.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide