- Associated Press - Wednesday, August 26, 2015

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Secretary of State’s office says only four counties will have the state’s new voting equipment when primary elections roll around.

The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (https://bit.ly/1KN9hzK ) reports that those counties are Boone, Columbia, Garland and Sebastian.

The Legislature recently passed a law allowing the Secretary of State’s office to replace election commission equipment for up to $30 million, but it didn’t set aside money to pay for the technology.

Instead, the Secretary of State’s office set up the four-county pilot program to test the new equipment. It’s using $2.5 million from its elections division budget.

The equipment will allow voters to cast paper ballots or mark votes on electronic screens. It also allows for integration between polling place equipment and voter registration systems.


Information from: Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, https://www.arkansasonline.com

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide