- Associated Press - Friday, August 28, 2015

ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) - Seventeen counties across New York will share $50 million from the state to upgrade their emergency communications.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo says the money will help counties communicate faster and respond to emergencies sooner.

Individual counties will receive awards of up to $3.5 million.

The grants are being made to the following counties: Cayuga, $2.5 million; Columbia, $3.5 million; Dutchess, $2 million; Erie, $2.1 million; Essex, $420,814; Genesee, $3 million; Greene, $3.5 million; Livingston, $3.5 million; Madison, $3.5 million; Monroe, $3.5 million; Nassau, $3.5 million; Oneida, $3.5 million; Putnam, $3.5 million; Rensselaer, $3.5 million; Saratoga, $3 million; Schoharie, $2.4 million; Steuben, $2.9 million.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide