- Associated Press - Sunday, August 9, 2015

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - The state of Mississippi has three more years to meet provisions of No Child Left Behind.

Mississippi is among seven states granted waivers this week from the law passed under President George W. Bush in 2002.

States granted waivers are exempt from the law’s requirement that all students be proficient in math and reading by 2014 - a goal the nation and Mississippi are still far from reaching. Without a waiver, most schools in the state would have faced federal sanctions.

The federal government first granted Mississippi additional flexibility in 2012.

The Clarion-Ledger reports (https://hatne.ws/1J2N7i6) that Alabama, Connecticut and Wisconsin also received another three years, while Arizona, Arkansas and New Hampshire received one additional year of flexibility.


Information from: The Clarion-Ledger, https://www.clarionledger.com

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide