- Associated Press - Wednesday, December 16, 2015

DALLAS (AP) - Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz has won the Eddie Robinson Award, given to the nation’s top coach in the Football Bowl Subdivision.

The Football Writers Association of America announced Wednesday that Ferentz was selected for the honor by its members.

Ferentz is the first Iowa coach to win the award in its 59-year history.

Ferentz, the AP national coach of the year in 2002, took a team that went 7-6 in 2014 and led them to the first 12-0 regular season in school history. Iowa lost to Michigan State in the Big Ten championship game.

The Hawkeyes (12-1) close out their season by playing Stanford (11-2) in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide