- Associated Press - Thursday, December 17, 2015

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin has requested a major disaster declaration from the federal government for 18 Oklahoma counties affected by a winter storm last month.

Fallin’s office announced the request Thursday. If approved, federal funds would be available to assist cities, counties, rural electric cooperatives and the state with infrastructure repairs and costs associated with responding to the November storm.

The governor’s office says the storm is blamed for two deaths, knocked out power to more than 125,000 homes and businesses and resulted in nearly $20 million in damage and response costs in the affected counties.

Counties included in the request are Alfalfa, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Grady, Grant, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Major, Oklahoma, Roger Mills, Washita and Woods.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide