- Associated Press - Thursday, December 17, 2015

SAN DIEGO (AP) - The Chargers could be playing their final game in San Diego when they host the Miami Dolphins on Sunday.

They were born in Los Angeles in 1960, moved to San Diego’s Balboa Stadium in 1961 and could be rolling back up the freeway if team Chairman Dean Spanos can convince fellow NFL owners to let him and Oakland Raiders owner Mark Davis build a stadium in Carson.

Here are some of the biggest moments of the San Diego Chargers’ history:

1963 AFL CHAMPIONSHIP: The Chargers routed the Boston Patriots 51-10 at Balboa Stadium to win what remains San Diego’s only major professional championship. Keith Lincoln lived up to his college nickname, “Moose of the Palouse,” by bulling his way to 349 total yards and two touchdowns. Lincoln had 206 yards rushing, 123 yards receiving and 20 yards passing.

1994 AFC CHAMPIONSHIP: No one gave the Chargers a chance against the heavily favored Pittsburgh Steelers yet they pulled off a 17-13 shocker that was sealed when Dennis Gibson knocked down Neil O’Donnell’s fourth-down pass in the end zone. Three Rivers Stadium fell into a stunned silence as the Chargers leaped for joy. Junior Seau had one of the finest games of his Hall of Fame career, and “Touchdown Tony” Martin’s over-the-shoulder catch of Stan Humphries’ 43-yard heave was the game-winner. Hours later, a crowd estimated at 68,000 welcomed the Chargers back to San Diego. Two weeks later they were routed by the San Francisco 49ers in the Super Bowl and haven’t been back since. Sadly, Seau became the eighth member of that team to die before the age of 45 when he killed himself in 2012.

1981 OVERTIME THRILLER IN MIAMI: Rolf Benirschke’s 29-yard field goal in overtime lifted the Chargers to a 41-38 victory at Miami in one of the most epic playoff games in NFL history. An enduring image of that game is an exhausted and dehydrated Kellen Winslow, with a towel over his head, being helped off the field by two teammates. Winslow caught 13 passes from Dan Fouts for 166 yards and one touchdown. A week later, the Chargers lost the AFC championship game to the Cincinnati Bengals, 27-7 on the coldest day in NFL history. The temperature was minus-9, with a wind chill of minus-59.

TOMLINSON’S DASH INTO HISTORY: On Dec. 10, 2006, LaDainian Tomlinson swept left and scored his third touchdown of the day against the Denver Broncos, breaking the NFL single-season touchdown record with his 29th. Tomlinson was engulfed by the behemoths on his offensive line, hoisted onto their shoulders and carried toward the sideline. Tomlinson held the ball high in his right hand while waving his left index finger as the home crowd chanted “L.T.! L.T.!” and “MVP! MVP!” Tomlinson finished with 31 touchdowns, 28 rushing, in one of the greatest seasons in NFL history. He also ran away with the NFL’s Most Valuable Player Award.

1994 PLAYOFF VICTORY: The Chargers were propelled to the AFC championship game with a heart-stopping 22-21 home victory over Dan Marino and the Miami Dolphins. Fans went into a frenzy when Pete Stoyanovich pushed a 48-yard field goal attempt wide right with 1 second left. Stan Humphries, who had given the Chargers the lead with an 8-yard TD toss to wide-open Mark Seay with 35 seconds left, stood on the sideline with his arm around equipment manager Sid Brooks as Stoyanovich missed.


Follow Bernie Wilson on Twitter at https://twitter.com/berniewilson


Online: https://pro32.ap.org/poll and https://twitter.com/AP_NFL

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide