- Associated Press - Friday, December 18, 2015

SAN FRANCISCO (AP) - Midfielder Michael Bradley has won the U.S. Player of the Year Award for the first time.

The American captain had three goals and six assists in 18 appearances in 2015, the most assists on the team in a calendar year since Landon Donovan’s eight in 2013.

Bradley, who plays for Toronto in Major League Soccer, received 39 first-place votes and 176 points in voting by media conducted by Futbol de Primera that was announced Friday. Three-time winner Clint Dempsey was second with 33 firsts and 145 points, followed by 2013 winner Jozy Altidore with nine firsts and 70 points.

A player receives three points for each first-place vote in the balloting, two points for each second-place vote, and one point for each third-place vote.

The U.S. Soccer Federation will announce its Male Player of the Year award next week.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide