- Associated Press - Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Alabama running back Derrick Henry, Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey and Iowa cornerback Desmond King are the five finalists for the Walter Camp player of the year award.

The Walter Camp award is voted on by FBS head coaches and sports information directors, and the winner will be announced Dec. 10.

Henry, considered the Heisman Trophy favorite, leads the nation in touchdowns with 22 going into the Southeastern Conference championship game Saturday.

Watson has accounted for 36 touchdowns for No. 1 Clemson. McCaffrey leads the nation in all-purpose yards with 3,305 for No. 7 Stanford.

Mayfield has passed for 3,389 and 35 touchdowns for the Big 12 champions. King leads the nation with eight interceptions for No. 4 Iowa.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide