- Associated Press - Tuesday, December 22, 2015

NEW YORK (AP) - Major League Soccer’s 2016 season will begin with the New York Red Bulls hosting Toronto on March 6.

Games set for later that day include Salt Lake at Orlando, New York City at Chicago, Philadelphia at Dallas, New England at Houston, Colorado at San Jose, defending champion Columbus at Portland, Montreal at Vancouver, Kansas City at Seattle and D.C. at Los Angeles.

MLS said Tuesday this will be the first time since 2005 all teams play on opening day.

Six home openers are slated for March 12: D.C. at New England, Philadelphia at Columbus, Los Angeles at Colorado, Vancouver at Kansas City, Seattle at Salt Lake and the Red Bulls at Montreal. Toronto is at New York City the following day.

Other home openers include Colorado at D.C. on March 19, New England at Philadelphia on March 20 and Dallas at Toronto on May 7. Toronto spends the first two months on the road because of stadium renovations.

MLS plans to announce the rest of its schedule on Jan. 7.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide